Picture this! (parade memory)

This post is a visual companion to the one I wrote yesterday about the St. Patrick’s Day parade in Alexandria.  You can only describe so much.  To really feel the spirit, you need to see the picture so here is my accompanying post for today…..

When I first arrived at the church, the dancers had not yet arrived.  It was some sort of an open house day at the museum to promote attendance and a large table was set up outside in front of the main door.  “I’m terribly sorry,” I said “but the table has to go… A large dance school will be arriving here any moment and they have taken their picture on these steps for decades.  Could you please make some space for them?”  “How many people are we talking about?”  “At least 50 maybe more, depending on how many dancers stay for it” “Are you sure”  “Yes, very” And as he began to push their tables to the side, a sea of green swelled behind the back gate and soon the yard was flooded with dancers awaiting their moment to arrange themselves on the steps as dancers before them, arranged like a pyramid of Irish dancers all standing with their toes pointed, in the classic “Stand like an Irish dancer!”pose.

Yet another generation of dancers stand proudly sporting their Irish and connecting with the rythym of fiddles, squeezeboxes, and the bohdran.  Dance, dance, wherever you may be, and I will lead you all wherever you may be, I am the Lord of the Dance, said she.

10 thoughts on “Picture this! (parade memory)

  1. >Yet another generation of dancers stand proudly sporting their Irish and connecting with the rythym of fiddles, squeezeboxes, and the bohdran.<

    This is an awesome picture of what's to come with Irish dancers! Perhaps, one day, some will make their way to Iowa Irishfest! We can dream, can't we? 🙂

    Thanks for the very Irish slice! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks. The month of March is always filled with a lot of live Irish music for me Memories of my own children dancing and seeing all the young ones carrying on the tradition is my over the moon March moment. Thanks for enjoying with me.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, love that they are all in form as Laureen would have instructed them. I can still hear her saying “Stand like an Irish dancer” Glad you enjoyed the story, I love taking pictures, almost obsessively.

      Like

Leave a comment